[catlist name=”Portland Trail Blazers”]

The NBA team Portland Trail Blazers are based out of Portland, Oregon and play in the Western Conference’s Northwest Division in the National Basketball Association. Originally, the Blazers played at the Memorial Coliseum. In 1995, they moved into the Rose Garden Arena. Throughout the franchise’s existence, the team has been based in Portland. They entered the NBA in 1970. The Blazers are currently the only Oregon based major league franchise. The Portland Timbers will begin playing Major League Soccer in 2011. The Trail Blazers have historically had a strong following in Portland. From 1977 to 1995, the Blazers sold out 814 home games in a row, which is the longest sold out streak in all of professional American sports. After the Grizzlies left Toronto and moved to Memphis and the Super Sonics left Seattle and moved to Oklahoma City, it left the Trail Blazers as the only NBA team located in the Pacific Northwest.

Three times the Blazers have made it into the NBA finals. In 1977 they won the NBA championship. The other two appearances in the NBA Finals came in 1990 and then 1992. In 39 seasons Portland has made it into the playoffs 26 times, including 21 consecutive appearances from 1983 to 2003. Five NBA Hall of Famers have played with the Portland Trail Blazers (Scottie Pippen, Drazen Petrovic, Clyde Drexler, Bill Walton and Lenny Wilkens). The most decorated Blazer player, Bill Walton, in 1977 was the Most Valuable Player of the NBA Finals and the following year was the MVP of the regular season. Three Blazer rookies (Brandon Roy, Sidney Wicks and Geoff Petrie) have been named as the NBA’s Rookie of the Year. The Blazers have also had two coaching Hall of Famers, Jack Ramsay and Lenny Wilkins. Mike Dunleavy and Mike Schuler were NBA Coach of the Year while coaching the Portland Trail Blazers.