[catlist name=”Golden State Warriors”]

The NBA Golden State Warriors basketball team play in the Western Conference’s Pacific Division and are part of the National Basketball Association. The Warriors are based out of Oakland, California and play at Oracle Arena. In 1946, the team was established in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and called the Philadelphia Warriors. The Warriors won the championship during the Basket Association of America’s inaugural season. Eventually, the league became the NBA. The franchise in 1962 moved to San Francisco. Until 1971, they were called the San Francisco Warriors, then changed their name to Golden State Warriors. In addition to their BAA Championship in 1947, the Warriors also won NBA championships in 1956 while still in Philadelphia and in 1975 as the Golden State Warriors.

From 1971 through 1977, the Warriors made it into the playoffs except for 1974. They won the NBA Championship in 1975 by sweeping the Washington Bullets, who were heavily favored. Al Attles was the head coach and the team was led by Phil Smith, Jamaal Wilkes and Rick Barry. From the late seventies to the middle 80’s, the Warriors struggled. From the late 80’s to the early 90’s, the team had a brief resurgence. In 1986, George Karl was hired to be the new head coach and the Warriors drafted Chris Mullin in 1985. The Warriors appeared in the Western Conference Semifinals in 1987 with the Lakers. Don Nelson became the coach and continued success with Chris Mullin, Mitch Richmond and Tim Hardaway. The team struggled after the 1993-94 season. In 2007, the Warriors finally made it back to the playoffs after a drought of thirteen years.