[catlist name=”Denver Nuggets”]

The NBA Denver Nuggets play in the Northwest Division of the Western Conference as part of the National Basketball Association and are based out of Denver, Colorado. Their home games are played at the Pepsi Center. They were originally formed in 1967 under the name Denver Rockets and were an American Basketball Association charter franchise. Denver emerged as one of the ABA’s most successful teams. In 1975-76, Denver made the ABA finals led by head coach Larry Brown, and players Bobby Jones, Dan Issel, Marvin Webster and David Thompson.

In 1974, Denver changed their name to the Nuggets, anticipating their move over to the NBA, since there was already a Rockets team in Houston. The Nuggets along with the Indiana Pacers, San Antonio Spurs and New York Nets joined the NBA for the 1976-77 season. During the Nuggets first two NBA seasons, they won their division.

Doug Moe was hired as Denver’s head coach in 1981. He brought the motion offense with him and the Nuggets became one of the highest scoring teams in the league. In 1981-82, the Nuggets scored 100 or more points per game 136 games in a row and averaged 126.5 points per game. Both of these feats set NBA records. The Nuggets offense was anchored by their two forwards Kiki Vandeweghe and Alex English.

In 2005-6, the Denver Nuggets won a Northwest division title after a drought of 18 years. They lost to the Los Angeles Clippers in the first round of the playoffs. In 2008-2009, the Nuggets went 54-28 and won their division. They lost to the Los Angeles Lakers in the Western Conference Finals.